Lockdown 3 Day 4

Standard

As a general rule most of the events that have fallen victim to the pandemic are ongoing open entry matches, so not being able to fish them this year doesn’t preclude entry in the future. There are a few exceptions, e.g. the Severn Float League, which I dropped out of only on the basis that I could have my place back next year, and potentially the Wye Festival, which I would have fished regardless rather than losing my place. Fortunately Dave Roberts understood the predicament and assured us that we could retain our places, and then the event was cancelled anyway because of English lockdown. The only other event on the horizon was next week’s Avon Championships, where again having secured a place I would have attended to secure it for the future as this will be a popular event. But I have just heard that it is cancelled due to river levels, so my dilemma is resolved. Bearing in mind that I would have had to break the law to leave Wales, then break the law (?) in England by not self-isolating having gone against strong guidance to not enter a Tier 3 region and then broken the law again to re-enter Wales I am far more relieved than disappointed. Could have been an expensive trip!!!!

So, looking forward from Xmas to the end of the season there are very few scheduled events anyway. Potentially a couple of substitute Opens at Belmont, Wye Feeder match, Wye Team Champs, 3 Opens at Chippenham, 2 Day Wye Festival and a few back end Opens at Evesham. The Evesham matches are closed to me at the moment (English Tier 1 and 2 only). I have no intention of embarrassing Kevin by asking him if I can fish Chippenham. I never fish the Wye Team Champs and I can live without the feeder match. So the only potential point of tension is the 2 Day Festival in February. However, I hope that is the current Wales lockdown remains in force at the time then Dave will deal with it as he did with the 3 Day festival. And, in reality, with a widespread acknowledgement that English restrictions will increase from Boxing Day and the strong probability of a full lockdown soon thereafter, it may well be that the Festival won’t take place anyway.

What an absolutely crazy year, and my heart goes out to those who have lost loved ones and/or suffered hardship over the past 12 months.

Leave a comment