Hendre Lake

Standard

Apologies for the kink in the timeline, we now return to real time. Monday isn’t usually a fishing day but Fflur was in full-on teenager mode and wanted to go back to her Mum’s early so that she could do her nails. No problem for me so I dropped her off and then wondered what to do with the second half of the day. I’d checked the weather forecast earlier and although it had been a miserable wet day up to that point it was promised to clear up late afternoon, so I decided that I’d take advantage of the opportunity and nip down to Hendre for a short session.

As I left the house to pack the car it was still raining lightly, which was a bit of a concern. It became even more of a concern when it started tipping it down during the 10 minute drive to the lake, and it was still having a go when I unloaded the car and had a quick look around for a peg. I opted for peg 9 as at least the wind was slightly side on rather than directly in my face, but I was still a bit uncertain as it was far from pleasant while I was setting up. The good news was that the Westerly wind was spot on, creating a Breamalicious chop. The even better news was that for the first time this season, due no doubt to the weather, Hendre did not look like a combination of the Glastonbury Festival and Barry beach on a Bank Holiday.

Classic Hendre approach today. Large Hybrid feeder with micros topped with groundbait, and band’ums/wafters on a size 16 Guru QM1 to a 8″ 0.16mm hooklength. Two liners in the first 20 minutes held some promise, plus the rain was easing off leaving that nice chop with overcast conditions. The Bream had to feed!! And sure enough they did. first fish after 20 minutes, 5 fish in the first hour, then same again for the second and third hours. 15 Bream between 2Lbs and maybe 4Lbs tops, a proper slimefest. And about time too, because I was starting to lose faith in the venue. But perhaps now as we move through the summer peak numbers fishing will drop off and so will the amount of free food that the C**p anglers throw in

A lovely easy session and probably even more enjoyable because it was so ad hoc.

Leave a comment